Our story

In July 1997 the first issue of the magazine Il Progetto was published. The editing team was composed of, among others, Maurizio Bradaschia, Livio Sacchi, Antonino Saggio, Maurizio Unali... The decision was made to put Peter Eisenman on the cover because, at the time, he was in a very creative period. The issue was distributed at the conference entitled “Paesaggistica e linguaggio grado zero dell’architettura” (Landscape and the Zero Degree of Architectural Language) organized by Zevi in Modena in September 1997. It was an event that must be read as the relaunching of justifications for experimentation in Italy, both because it represented an opening towards environmental issue and because it declared the end of research focused exclusively on the typical language of the 1980s. After much discussion, in the second issue, published in January 1998, the editors decided to place Massimiliano Fuksas on the cover. At the time Fuksas was not so well known, largely as a result of his ostracism by academic culture. It was precisely during these years that a new critical movement was born, mainly outside of the universities."

Peter Eisenman and Massimiliano Fuksas, Richard Meier, Frank Gehry, Norman Foster, Sejima & Nishizawa, Droog Design, Daniel Libeskind, Waro Kishi, Behnish & Partners, Gunnar Birkerts, Giancarlo De Carlo, Gustav Peichl, Coop Himmelb(l)au, Mariko Mori, Valvomo, David Byrne, Boris Podrecca, Carlos Ferrater, Eric Owen Moss, Günther Domenig, James Wines, Harald Szeemann, Volker Gienke, Marcos Novak, luís Carrilho da Graça, MVRDV, Bernard Tschumi, Carmen Pinós, Jean Nouvel, Piero Sartogo, Stephen Perrella, Klaus Kada, Berger + Parkkinen, Aslop & Störmer, Francisco Mangado, Juhani Pallasmaa, Ernst Giselbrecht, Weil Arets, Marc Barani, Bolles-Wilson, Neutelings Riedijk, Dominique Perrault, Nox, Andrea Chiesi, Françoise Roche, Luigi Snozzi, Livio Vacchini, Eduardo Souto de Moura, Oman + Videcnik, Bernardo Secchi, Joao Rocha, Heikkinen Komonen, Allies and Morrison, Gerald van der Kaap, Steven Holl, Frits van Dongen, Pei Partnership, Cino Zucchi, Renzo Piano, Rogelio Salmona, Odile Decq 6 Benoît Cornette, Tod Williams & Billie Tsien, Marc Augé, Grafton Architects, Guillermo Vazquez Consuegra, Oliviero Toscani, Andrea Branzi, Wolfgang Tschapeller, Franco Purini, Alberto Campo Baeza, Saucier + Perrotte, Thomas Rose, Artigues & Sanabria, Thomas Ruff, Ben van Berkel, Zaha Hadid, Alessandro Mendini, FOA, Richard Rogers, Jordi Badia, Aires Mateus, Toyo Ito, Salvador Perez Arroyo, Peter Cook, Jenny Holzer, Luciano Semerani, Mumbai Studio, Gangoly & Kristiner, Schmeider + Shumacher, Jarmund Vignaes, Govaert & Vanhoutte, JDS, Heinz Tesar, Peter Ebner, Jo Coenen, AHR, Gillo Dorfles, 5+1AA, Christo e Jeanne Claude